A Round of Words in 80 Days

 

Here it is: I am starting this blog to tell the world about the novel I am writing.  I wrote about 1/3 of the first draft during NaNoWriMo 2011. Although I made the required 50k words, my historical fiction is far from complete. Now I have signed up for A Round of Words in 80 Days in a hope to finish the first draft.

The working title is Scorched Earth. As the story develops, I will most likely change the title. Here is the synopsis:

A Wehrmacht deserter and runaway Ostarbeiterin run into each other in heavily bombed Berlin of March 1945. Their looks marked by the grueling years of the war, they don’t recognize each other at first. The man and woman have met years before in Nazi-occupied Ukraine, but each of them suppressed the memory of that encounter.

As they scramble to rebuild their lives in postwar Germany, glimpses of recognition force them both to face their wartime deeds, tragedies and blind loyalty to the respective totalitarian regimes that nurtured them as soldiers in this war.

4 comments on “A Round of Words in 80 Days

  1. Sony says:

    I love the title and the premise! Looking forward to seeing your work!

  2. Willowfaerie says:

    I think this sounds like such a powerful story. I’m so excited to hear you’re making such good progress with it.

Leave a Reply

