ROW80 Goals

 

My main goal is to finish the first draft of my historical fiction, Scorched Earth, in 80 days.

I do not plan on specific word count to do per day or week. Instead, my weekly goal will be writing or revising a specific chapter. For me, NaNoWriMo worked great as a way to overcome the initial inertia and get myself in the process of writing.  However,  in the end I worked chiefly to make the word count.  The result was messy writing and word-padding. This time I want to use my writing time more efficiently. At this point I already have the whole story mapped out, which makes it easy for me to break it into chapters.

For this week my goal is to finish revising the part I wrote during NaNoWriMo (about 20K words remaining).

Deadline: Sunday, January 8th.

Location: Berlin-Reinickendorf, more exactly the garden allotments near Miraustrasse and then an apartment in Borsigwalde.

Timeline: April-June 1945,  just before, during and after the Battle of Berlin.

I have been doing historical research for my novel for over two years, and there is still a lot to research. My reading for this week: Karel C. Berkhoff, “Harvest of Despair: Life and Death in Ukraine Under Nazi Rule.”

I will post weekly reviews of books and sources I studied for my novel.

6 comments on “ROW80 Goals

  1. Great goals! My goals are similar to yours. I am trying to complete a novel which is 1/3? 2/3? of the way done. I’ve been revising as I go, which makes writing slower going, but I’m happy with it. Less revision (I hope) when I’m done. I normally fast draft a novel with has serious issues during the revising stage. I’m definitely in a better spot with this one. 🙂

    So happy to have met you. Keep up the revising work–it’s good work to do. Good luck with the research!

  2. Glad to meet you, too. Thanks for stopping by! To be honest, I enjoy revising more than writing from scratch. I think it has something to do with overcoming the initial writing inertia.

  3. Sony says:

    wow, 2 years worth of research and counting is impressive. I’m sure it will show in your writing.

  4. Kim Switzer says:

    Hi! I was so happy to see your comment on my blog! Great to see you over here in these post-NaNo times. 😉

    Your goals sound really good. I think the chapter-by-chapter plan makes a lot of sense.

    See you at the next check-in!

Leave a Reply

